Canada Honored, Abraham Pleased

Geoffrey Canada and Denzel Washington (photo credit: Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images North America)

Harlem was represented very well at this past Monday’s gala event for the Steve Harvey Foundation at Cipriani Wall Street. Harlem Children’s Zone’s Geoffrey Canada was among the honorees (alongside State Farm’s Pamela El and two-time Academy Award-winning actor Denzel Washington). The purpose of the event was to raise funds for the organization, which provides mentoring for young men raised in single-mother households. Canada was praised for his work with the youth of Harlem.

Collin Abraham, owner of Harlem’s Pollen Nation Events and Floral (11 E. 125th Street), provided the floral arrangements for the event. “It was a whirlwind,” says the floral designer to the stars, “but I am pleased we were a part of an event honoring such important work.” The floral arrangements consisted of elaborate centerpieces of purple hydrangeas, white roses and white cymbidium orchids, as well as enormous urns of white spirea branches flanking the stage.

the table setting, including Pollen Nations floral arrangements (photo credit: Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images North America)

Guests included Common, Sherri Shepard, Toni Braxton (who performed), Antonio “L.A.” Reid, Robin Roberts (who hosted the event), Deborah Lee and Malik Yoba.

Published by josephrileyland

joseph riley land: freelance writer, graphic designer, t-shirt maker, branding expert, public relations consultant, part-time bartender and full-time believer. That's who I am and that's how I pay the rent. Born and raised in a small town in Tennessee (Olive Hill, population… 600? Maybe. On a day with no funerals and a lot of births.), I earned a B.A. in English from Sewanee: The University of the South way back in 1998. After a slew of odd jobs, I gave up on Plan B and moved to Harlem in the summer of 2006 with a dream and $78 in my pocket. I made it work then and am I’m still making it work today. Though a veritable “Joe of All Trades,” writing always has been and always will remain my passion. I started writing when I was a child, making up elaborate stories that rivaled my beloved Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books. As time progressed, I began drawing influence from writers such as William Faulkner, Flannery O’Conner, Toni Morrison, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston… I need to stop, lest this becomes a 4-page bio. I currently am working on a collection of short stories, entitled People I Know, I’m a contributing writer for www.NorthStarNews.com, www.averagejoe.fitmoneymag.com, and www.UPTOWNflavor.com, I just launched a line of greeting cards, and I am prepping to open a music/gift/lifestyle store in the heart of Harlem. Hmmm… damn. I’m a catch.