Favorite Things: Kimberly Nichole

The Yellow Brick Journey is my favorite album of the year; And this is coming from someone who listens to a lot of music. After all, I’m opening a CD store, for cryin’ out loud. I have heard huge commercial releases like Jay’s The Blueprint 3, The Black Eyed Peas’ The E.N.D. and even Adam Lambert’s “For Your Entertainment”. I am also a huge fan of independent records from Eric Roberson [Music Fan First] and N’dambi [Pink Elephant]. But, the album that has songs that get me up in the morning and stays in my head all day has to be KimberlyNichole’s The Yellow Brick Journey.

Released in August, the EP is a triple shot of espresso on a cold winter’s day. The most rousing song in the collection, “Little Girl New”, would fit on any DJs play list and not seem out of place. The title track, my personal favorite, gives me shades of Lauryn Hill when she sang, “And I made up my mind/To define my own destiny” on the title track for her magnum opus, The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. KimberlyNichole has chosen to take her own journey, to stray from what is expected when they see the self-described “skinny girl with puffy hair.” She is not a neo-soul singer –“I hate that term.”
She is not an R&B singer. She is not rock and roll. She is following her own golden path. Get the album now. You can say you had it before she was famous.

The Yellow Brick Journey  can be found on http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/kimberlynichole, iTunes or http://www.kimberlynichole.com

jrl

