Reading is (fun)damental

Posted on August 24, 2012 by


This summer one of my goals has been to read more and I actually met that goal! I just went through all of the books that I have read since June and couldn’t believe it.

Here is a list of the books that I have read so far this summer:

 

  • Mission Possible by Moskowitz and Lavinia (I was actually paid to review this and it turned out to be a good read)
  • Summerland by Elin Hilderbrand (This was another book I was supposed to review but just got around to reading. I really enjoyed the story and look forward to reading more by this author)
  • From Harlem with Love by Joseph Holland (I started reading this months ago and was deeply engrossed then I think I lost momentum and it sat collecting dust until I decided to finish it off this summer.)
  • Now reading Tabloid City by Pete Hamill, yet another book I was sent to review last year but just getting around to reading. Here is the description from the publisher: 

In a stately West Village townhouse, a wealthy socialite and her secretary are murdered. In the 24 hours that follow, a flurry of activity circles around their shocking deaths: The head of one of the city’s last tabloids stops the presses. A cop investigates the killing. A reporter chases the story. A disgraced hedge fund manager flees the country. An Iraq War vet seeks revenge. And an angry young extremist plots a major catastrophe.

The City is many things: a proving ground, a decadent playground, or a palimpsest of memories– a historic metropolis eclipsed by modern times. As much a thriller as it is a gripping portrait of the city of today, TABLOID CITY is a new fiction classic from the writer who has captured it perfectly for decades.

I also started reading another murder mystery that took place in Washington Heights that I need to finish. I have so many books that were sent to me that I haven’t even touched. Others that I’ve bought that I haven’t finished. Looking forward to keeping up with my reading this year.

 

 

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Uncategorized