UPTOWNflavor

Your Harlem Lifestyle Destination Since 2006

Jazz News: Funeral Services for Irene Reid

Irene Reid
Funeral Services:
This Thursday: January 10th, 2008
The Greater Zion Hill Baptist Church
at 127th and 8th Avenue
Time: Viewing from 2-6:30
Services from 6:30 on at the church Irene Reid
The last of a dying breed. One of the greatest singers that ever graced Harlem.

Friday January 4th Legend/vocalist Irene Reid, one of the greatest vocalists that ever graced a stage, has passed.

It was the same day as most of you already know, that Earl May (Legendary bassist) also passed at 4 PM- without any warning, he went almost instantly, without suffering, survived by his wonderful wife Lee. Arrangements and funeral services will be announced soon and certainly someone with more jazz history than I, will write about the one and only Earl May, one of the kindest, generous, most precious people in the world- but in the mean time- here’s a little something about Irene.

source: Jazz News: Funeral Services for Irene Reid .

5 comments on “Jazz News: Funeral Services for Irene Reid

  1. Dick Bogle
    January 30, 2008

    I never met Irene face to face but when her Savant label informed me of her illness some years ago, I began calling her intermitently ver the past year or two. I reviewed her recordings for the Skanner newspapers in Portland,Or and Seattle Washington. I also played her music almost every week on my weekly jazz radio show on KMHD FM. I loved actually seeing her on DVD with Count Baaie. I called when I did and she had not yet seen it herself. She sang of life, its’ ups and downs but always with a positive feel. She was someone I loved as a person without ever laying eyes on her. Dick Bogle

  2. Eric Lemon
    January 15, 2008

    I met the gentle giant once at St.Peter’s church where we shared the stage. I can still recall his warmth and dignity.

  3. Ms J
    January 10, 2008

    So sorry to hear about both Irene Reid and Earl May sudden passing. Both were true diamonds in the Jazz community. My condolences and prayers go out to Irene Reids family and Earl’s wife Lee for comfort. They both are already missed and legacies are treasured. Wendy may God bless you for sharing those precious times spent with Irene my prayers go up for you as well. God bless everyone I have included a bio about Earl May to reflect upon.

    Biography
    Bassist Earl May, began his career in 1949 in New York City, and honed his craft in places like Minton’s Playhouse with musicians such as Lester Young and Mercer Ellington. He was also a protegé of the legendary bass player Charles Mingus. Come hear the tales of Earl May’s life story and career in music on August 23rd at the offices of the National Jazz Museum in Harlem.

    In 1951 Earl joined the Billy Taylor Trio, appearing regularly in such clubs as the Hickory House, Birdland and the Downbeat Club. During this period Earl also worked with Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, and recorded the classic “Lush Life” with John Coltrane.

    Earl left the Billy Taylor Trio in 1959 to form his own group and act as musical director and arranger for Gloria Lynne. During the mid-sixties Earl took up the electric bass and led a quartet at The New York Playboy Club.

    The Earl May Quartet rapidly became the epitome of great music in the New York club scene. Over the years Earl has performed or recorded with Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Foster, Cab Calloway, Tommy Flanagan, Linda Hopkins, Doc Cheatham, Charles Brown, John Hendricks, Marlena Shaw, Ruth Brown, Winard Harper and Phyllis Hyman to name a few. He is currently featured with the Barry Harris Trio. Earl has many fans in the New York swing scene, having played at swing dances multiple times in Junior Mance’s Trio, Benny Powell’s The Gift of Love Quintet, and with his own quintet.

    Born: September 17, 1927
    By AllJazz

  4. Vea Williams
    January 10, 2008

    I’ll attend Irene’s celebration of her life with deep gratitude for the awakening of the happy blues;fun and joyful expression of life grounded on this earth… she shared with me and others so well, right up the street from me where I live, I go.

    Be well and go well–as she would have us do!

  5. Vea Williams
    January 10, 2008

    Much appreciation for Irene, Family and all of your presence. Earl caught my attention long before I finally met him and happily worked with him and others in Frank Foster’s Loud Minority Big Band in NYC…(via listening to Gloria Lynn as a teenager in Pittsburgh Pa.) I imagine he has met my precious parents and big brother by now, and given them a hug for me and my siblings-etc.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2008 by in Jazz, Music.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

